This depicts a little bit of what the Campbell Veterans Memorial is all about. We’re looking to expand our Board of Directors. If you have an interest to serve in this way, let us know. (408) 370-2200
Foundation Advisory Board Member MG Kent Hillhouse, US Army Ret. performed the pinning of the Purple Heart for Alex Hussey with family and staff present at a beautiful ceremony in the Palo Alto VA Hospital Healing Garden.
MG Hillhouse offered the following sentiments “Today’s young warriors are no different than their Grandfathers and Great Grandfathers. They do their duty and are proud of their sacrifices. I am always humbled to be in their presence.”
Three Easy Steps to Obtain “Veteran” Designation on Driver Licenses and Identification Cards
Sacramento – Last week former service members in California began receiving their new driver licenses and identification (ID) cards with the word “Veteran” printed on it.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and the California Department of Veterans Affairs (CalVet) reminds Veterans that they must first visit a County Veteran Service Office (CVSO) and obtain a Veteran Status Verification Form before contacting a DMV to apply for the Veteran designation.
Veterans are also required to pay a one-time $5 designation fee, in addition to any other application fees associated with a renewal, duplicate, or original driver license or ID card. The Veteran designation fee was part of the new law, also known as Assembly Bill 935.
To apply for your Veteran designation, please follow these three easy steps: get your discharge certificate, visit any CVSO, and then visit any DMV.
STEP 1 – Find your military discharge certificate (DD214). If you need assistance obtaining your military records, then contact any County Veteran Service Office (CVSO) by calling 844-737-8838.
STEP 2 – Take your discharge certificate to any County Veteran Service Office (CVSO) to obtain your Veteran Status Verification Form. To find your CVSO, call 844-737-8838 or visit www.calvet.ca.gov.
STEP 3 – Present your completed and stamped Veteran Status Verification Form and driver license application to a DMV representative at your local DMV field office. Pay your $5 designation fee and related application fees.
Please remember, Veterans must first visit a CVSO and obtain the Veteran Status Verification Form before setting an appointment at DMV. For faster DMV service, schedule an appointment at a DMV field office by visiting www.dmv.ca.gov or calling
For frequently asked questions, please visit CalVet’s website.